The path to obtaining a driver's license for teenagers in Alaska includes various steps and requirements set by the state. Understanding these guidelines is important for a seamless process. In this guide, we will be covering the steps to getting your Learners Permit and subsequently your driver's license in the state of Alaska. We try to be exhaustive in this article, so if you aren't interested in a ton of reading, we suggest heading over to DriversEd.com.
DriversEd is the #1 online driver's education provider in AK. They are state certified and by clicking this link or the banner below, you'll be eligible for an exclusive discount there. DriversEd.com has excellent customer service that is miles better than anything the government has to offer. If you get stuck during the process of getting your driver's license, you can be sure that DriversEd is there to be your helping hand.
To start, a teenager must be at least 15 years old to apply for a learner's permit, and at least 16 years old to apply for a driver's license. Those under 18 years old must also complete a driver's education course approved by the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Drivers Education in Alaska
This course includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of practical, behind-the-wheel training. Lucky for you, Alaska is one of the few states to embrace online coursework. DriversEd.com online driver's education course offers comprehensive learning that covers every aspect of driving, as explained below:
- Introduction to Driver's Education
- Traffic Laws
- Vehicle Operation
- Driver Safety
- Defensive Driving
- Hazard Recognition and Avoidance
- Alcohol and Drug Awareness
- Teen Driving Issues
The course concludes with a final exam that tests the overall understanding of the material taught. Students are required to score at least 80% on each module quiz and the final exam to successfully pass the course.
Flexibility and Resources
The DriversEd.com course is self-paced, providing flexibility for busy teens. Moreover, it offers additional resources such as a mobile app for access to course materials anytime, a driving simulator for safe practice, a blog with articles on driving-related topics, and a forum for questions and advice.
By adhering to the rules and making use of valuable resources like the DriversEd.com course, teen drivers in Alaska can navigate the process to obtain a driver's license smoothly and safely.
The team over at DriversEd have been educating teens successfully for decades. They're one of the only reliable online course providers in AK that is officially state approved. DriversEd.com boasts decades of experience and has helped over 13 million drivers learn the ropes. With 3D animated driving scenarios and case studies, it offers an immersive learning experience. Try DriversEd.com, one of the most trusted names in the space.
***Aceable is currently not certified for Drivers Education in Alaska*** While this is my favorite company in the space, they're still not available in Alaska. Aceable offers an interactive, mobile-friendly course that allows you to learn at your own pace, on your own time. The course includes engaging, multimedia content to make learning fun and easy. Get an Aceable discount today!
***IDriveSafely is currently not certified for Drivers Education in Alaska*** My first job in the Drivers Education space, I Drive Safely is time-tested and has been around since 1998. The company is basically as old as the internet itself. I Drive Safely prides itself on delivering top-quality, easy-to-understand courses. Their engaging, interactive content is designed to help you retain information and pass your exams on the first try.
Alaska Learner's Permit
Upon completion of the required driver's education course, teens can apply for a learner's permit. The application process involves passing a vision test and a written test that examines the knowledge of traffic rules and road signs.
Practice Driving in Alaska
Holding a learner's permit allows a teenager to practice driving. However, the permit holder must be accompanied by a licensed driver, who is at least 21 years old, sitting in the passenger seat. During this practice, the teenager must always wear a seatbelt and obey all traffic laws.
AK Driving Test and License
After at least 6 months of practice driving, the teenager can apply for a driving test. This test assesses skills in a variety of driving situations. A pass results in a provisional license with certain restrictions such as curfew hours and passenger limitations. After maintaining a clean driving record for 12 months, the teenager can apply for an unrestricted driver's license that carries no limitations.
Graduated Driver's License (GDL) Program in AK
Alaska operates a Graduated Driver's License (GDL) program to ensure the safety of teenage drivers. This program is structured in three phases, each with different rules and restrictions:
- Learner's Permit: The learner can only drive under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, obeying seatbelt and traffic laws, and driving under certain time and passenger restrictions.
- Provisional License: This phase maintains some restrictions such as curfew hours and passenger limitations but allows the teenager some driving privileges, such as driving to school, work, or an approved activity.
- Unrestricted License: This final phase grants full driving privileges akin to an adult driver.
Adherence to the GDL program is crucial for the safety of teen drivers and others on the road.
According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) prior to September 2021, Graduated Driver's Licensing (GDL) programs like the one in AK have been successful in reducing teen accidents. The CDC noted that when properly implemented, GDL programs can reduce teen crashes by up to 40%.
Additionally, research from the IIHS found that the greatest reductions in fatal crashes and insurance claim rates for teens occurred in states with the strongest licensing laws, which include having a learner's permit phase, an intermediate phase with a limit on night driving and passenger restrictions, and a minimum age of 17 for obtaining an unrestricted license.