Earning a driver's license is a significant rite of passage for many teenagers. In New Jersey, this journey involves fulfilling various requirements, passing several tests, and undergoing driver education. In this guide, we cover the steps to getting your Learners Permit and subsequently your driver's license in New Jersey. We try to be exhaustive in this article, so if you aren't interested in a ton of reading, we suggest heading over to DriversEd.com.
DriversEd.com is the #1 online driver's education provider in NJ. They are state certified and by clicking this link or the banner below, you'll be eligible for an exclusive discount there. They have excellent customer service that is miles better than anything the government has to offer. If you get stuck during the process of getting your driver's license, you can be sure that DriversEd.com is there to be your helping hand.
Applying for a New Jersey Driver's License
To secure a New Jersey driver's license, teens must:
- Be a minimum of 16 years old
- Complete an approved driver education course
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a written test
- Pass a driving test
Teens can apply for a license at any New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) office by making an appointment online or by calling the MVC at 1-800-772-8371.
Driver Education Requirements in New Jersey
Teens in New Jersey must complete an MVC-approved driver education course that includes at least 30 hours of instruction. The course covers:
- Traffic laws
- Safe driving practices
- Vehicle maintenance
- Driver's responsibilities
- Hazards and emergency management
Graduated Licensing Program in New Jersey
New Jersey has a three-phase graduated licensing program for teen drivers:
- NJ Learner's Permit Phase
- New Jersey Provisional License Phase
- Full New Jersey Drivers License Phase
This program helps ensure that teen drivers gain the necessary skills and experience for safe driving.
Resources for New Drivers in New Jersey
The New Jersey MVC offers various resources for new drivers, including:
- New Jersey drivers education courses
- A NJ driver's handbook
- Online resources
The MVC also provides programs to reduce accidents involving teen drivers, such as graduated licensing, teen driver awareness, and distracted driving prevention programs.
Online New Jersey Teen Drivers Ed Course
The New Jersey Teen Drivers Ed course from DriversEd.com is a fully online, self-paced course. The course includes:
- Comprehensive lessons on necessary topics
- Interactive learning materials
- New Jersey MVC approval
- An affordable price of $49.95
New Jersey Traffic Accidents and Teenage Drivers: Statistics Overview
Here are some important 2021 statistics related to traffic safety in New Jersey:
- There were 134,284 traffic accidents in New Jersey, with 688 fatalities and 121,972 injuries.
- Teen drivers represented 12% of all drivers involved in fatal accidents.
- The leading causes of fatal accidents among teen drivers were speeding, distracted driving, and alcohol intoxication.
Tips for Safe Teen Driving
To reduce accidents involving teenage drivers, consider the following tips:
- Take a driver education course
- Practice driving with a parent or guardian
- Obey all traffic laws
- Stay aware of your surroundings
- Avoid distractions
- Refrain from drinking and driving
By adhering to these safety measures, aspiring young drivers in New Jersey can contribute to creating safer roads for all.