Earning a driver's license is a significant rite of passage for many teenagers. In Oregon, this journey involves fulfilling various requirements, passing several tests, and undergoing driver education. This article provides a detailed roadmap for teen drivers looking to earn their license in Oregon, discusses the Oregon Teen Drivers Ed online course, and explores some key traffic accident statistics for the state.
In this guide, we cover the steps to getting your Learners Permit and subsequently your driver's license in Oregon. We try to be exhaustive in this article, so if you aren't interested in a ton of reading, we suggest heading over to DriversEd.com. DriversEd.com is the #1 online driver's education provider in OR. They are state certified and by clicking this link or the banner below, you'll be eligible for an exclusive discount there. They have excellent customer service that is miles better than anything the government has to offer. If you get stuck during the process of getting your driver's license, you can be sure that DriversEd.com is there to be your helping hand.
Applying for an Oregon Driver's License
To secure an Oregon driver's license, teens must:
- Be a minimum of 16 years old
- Complete an approved driver education course
- Pass a vision test
- Pass a written test
- Pass a driving test
You can apply for a license at any Oregon Driver and Motor Vehicle Services Division (DMV) office by making an appointment online or by calling the DMV.
Driver Education Requirements in Oregon
Teens in Oregon must complete a DMV-approved driver education course that includes at least 30 hours of instruction. The course covers:
- Traffic laws
- Safe driving practices
- Vehicle maintenance
- Driver's responsibilities
- Hazards and emergency management
Graduated Licensing Program in Oregon
Oregon has a three-phase graduated licensing program for teen drivers:
- Oregon Learner's Permit Phase
- Oregon Intermediate License Phase
- Full Oregon Drivers License Phase
This program helps ensure that teen drivers gain necessary skills and experience for safe driving.
Resources for New Drivers in Oregon
The Oregon DMV offers various resources for new drivers, including:
- Oregon drivers education courses
- Oregon driver's handbook
- Online resources
The OR DMV also provides programs to reduce accidents involving teen drivers, such as graduated licensing, teen driver awareness, and distracted driving prevention programs.
Online Oregon Teen Drivers Ed Course
The Oregon Teen Drivers Ed course from DriversEd.com is a fully online, self-paced course. The course includes:
- Comprehensive lessons on necessary topics
- Interactive learning materials
- Oregon DMV approval
- An affordable price of $49.95
Oregon Traffic Accidents and Teenage Drivers: Statistics Overview
Here are some important 2020 statistics related to traffic safety in Oregon:
- There were 135,611 traffic accidents in Oregon, with 1,035 fatalities and 100,576 injuries.
- Teen drivers represented 10% of all drivers involved in fatal accidents.
- The leading causes of fatal accidents among teen drivers were speeding, distracted driving, and alcohol intoxication.
Tips for Safe Teen Driving
To reduce accidents involving teenage drivers, consider the following tips:
- Take a driver education course
- Practice driving with a parent or guardian
- Obey all traffic laws
- Stay aware of your surroundings
- Avoid distractions
- Refrain from drinking and driving
By adhering to these safety measures, aspiring young drivers in Oregon can contribute to creating safer roads for all.